Friendly lions! (Spare orange icing….)

May have to try tigers and bears next time....

Lions and lions and more lions! Oh my!

I may have slightly overestimated the amount of icing needed for the mane of the lion cake a few days ago.

This left me with icing to use up in various shades of orange.  I also found some chocolate buttons in the cupboard (halved to make the ears).

I didn’t quite use my standard Victoria sponge recipe this time – I substituted coconut oil for half of the fat and added  coconut milk and lemon juice to flavour it.

Ingredients:

4 eggs
8 oz self-raising flour
8 oz caster sugar
4 oz margarine
4 oz coconut oil
~1/3 tin of coconut milk
5 tsp. of lemon juice
1 tsp baking powder

Beat sugar and fat together, add eggs and liquid, fold in dry ingredients.  Bake at 180 degrees/Gas Mark 4 until golden on top and a skewer comes out clean.

For the background icing, I simply mixed coconut milk, icing sugar and a drop of yellow food colouring.  The brown icing is from a tube of writing icing.  I need to get better at using that stuff…

This entry was posted in Cake and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

